Cloud Storage: How to Store Files With Dropbox

Beth Gramling Sanders
6 min readJan 23, 2021

Cloud storage is an important safety measure for your critical files, and most cloud storage apps provide file sharing capability. My favorite tool is Dropbox, which I’ve been using for years. I first posted about Dropbox back in 2016, when this post was originally written. It is the easiest to use of all of the cloud storage apps I’ve used (and that’s quite a few).

I use Dropbox every day for storing files, and for sharing them with others. Sometimes it’s just too big to send via email. I also love having my files with me everywhere I go. The app is free for desktop, phone and tablet. Dropbox gives you free storage, so if you don’t have large files you may be able to keep the free plan.

Why Cloud Storage is Vital

Here’s a story that will help you understand why it’s so important. When my oldest daughter went to college, she went with a new MacBook. As an art major, she had Adobe applications and files on her computer that she had created for a graphic design course. We also bought her an external hard drive, and advised her to keep a backup in a cloud storage account.

I bet you know what’s coming. Like most college students, setting up a Dropbox account and adding files didn’t seem too exciting and she never found the time to do it. One night a friend (?) spilled an…

--

--