Todoist: Organize Your Life and Work

Beth Gramling Sanders
7 min readSep 11, 2020

My never-ending search for the perfect to-do app is somewhat of a running joke at our house. I’m currently using an app called Todoist, which is the closest I’ve come to perfect in a very long time, so I thought I’d share it here.

I’ve always been a calendar nerd and was a faithful Day-Timer user in its heyday. I took my Day-Timer with me everywhere, which was a little unwieldy as I used a desk-size binder. Last year I ordered a very nice paper organizer, which became a waste of too much money. The product itself more than met my expectations, but paper just isn’t the right fit for me. I had to force myself to use it, and it was too bulky to carry around, so I often found myself without a calendar or a way to add a reminder.

Enter Todoist. My requirements are pretty standard and Todoist fits all of these, some better than others.

  • I need to be able to email to it. When an email becomes a task, I like to forward it to my to-do app and track it there rather than my inbox.
  • It must be available as a mobile app and must sync well. If I can’t add and manage tasks and information on my phone, we’re done. This is critical and the Todoist mobile app is superb.
  • File storage. I use my app for client work as well, so I need to be able to keep the files with the tasks. For example, if one of…

--

--